Sprouts! Seedlings! See there? Over on the left? A tiny sprout! She’s a Peacevine tomato seedling and she is a beautiful red cherry who will start to give us fruit in late July. Peacevines are super prolific heirlooms and, usually, our earliest producers. So it’s fitting that this was my first sprout sighting – though there were actually two almost-sprouts of other varieties today. But I still think it appropriate that the Peacevine is a little earlier than others.

Peacevines are so named because their high amino acid content is supposed to have a calming effect on the body. I haven’t noticed. When we get the first tomatoes of the season, I can barely contain myself – hardly calming at all! But there’s nothing wrong with a little excitement, right? Right. Excuse me while I do a happy dance, in celebration of the first seedling.

It hasn’t all been patient waiting until now, mind you. For the past ten days, I’ve spritzed the seed starter daily, always hoping for a tiny vision of green. I spend an inordinate amount of time staring at the soil, wondering if the seeds are too dry, too deep, too old, etc. Then, eventually, they all sprout and I have to take one of the most painful steps of the gardening season: thinning. You’d think I was pulling out my own babies. Actually, I kind of am. But I’ll think about that later.

Recommended pairing: Bloody Mary with a rim dusted in a mixture of salt, powdered bacon and cayenne

